European Master's program in Gerontology (EuMaG): Goals, curriculum, and students

M.J. Aartsen

Research output: Contribution to JournalArticleAcademicpeer-review


The European Master's Program in Gerontology (EuMaG) started in September 2003 with support from the European Commission. The EuMaG is a modular, 2-year, part-time international training program about the aging process and its societal implications. The multidisciplinary curriculum comprises four domains of gerontology (i.e., social gerontology, psychogerontology, health gerontology, and biogerontology). Recently, a module on research and academic writing has been added to the core program. EuMaG emphasizes international comparison, focusing on current European debates concerning-among other things-policy and care for older adults. Members of several gerontology programs deliver the program across Europe. Guest lecturers from the wider EuMaG consortium are invited during the core modules. All institutes are involved in aging research, which provides ample opportunities to inform students about the latest research. Part of the standard curriculum is the Summer School, which is a collaborative endeavor of the VU-University Amsterdam and one of the partner universities of the larger European network. Since the start of EuMaG in 2003, a mix of participants with respect to age, nationality, and background has entered EuMaG. More than 100 students subscribed for (parts) of the EuMaG program. Students evaluate the EuMaG as highly informative and inspiring and appreciate the possibility to build an international network of gerontologists. © Taylor & Francis Group, LLC.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)225-232
JournalGerontology & Geriatrics Education
Issue number3
Early online date16 Aug 2011
Publication statusPublished - 2011


Dive into the research topics of 'European Master's program in Gerontology (EuMaG): Goals, curriculum, and students'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this