Hôtel Amelot (1717)

Research output: Chapter in Book / Report / Conference proceedingChapterAcademicpeer-review

Abstract

Germain Boffrand (1667–1754), who is often regarded the greatest French architect of the first half of the eighteenth century, designed the Hôtel de Montmorency as a speculator on the rue Saint-Dominique. From the seventeenth century, the lavish houses of eminent or rich people in Paris increasingly became known as hôtels. The hôtel was renamed Amelot after the owner who bought and completed it in 1717. The building is a relatively compact nobleman's townhouse with an ingenious elevation matching the original plan and distribution. The concave shape is a rather unusual feature for the façade of a hôtel. The garden façade is less formal, reflecting the private nature of this area. The plan of the ground floor is at once simple in its organization and intricate in its detailing; every room has its own specific shape in which regularity and symmetry are observed in the placement of windows, fireplaces, and doorways. Every room would have been appropriately decorated, respecting its use and position in the hierarchy in the distribution.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationThe Companions to the History of Architecture
Subtitle of host publication[II] Eighteenth-Century Architecture
EditorsCaroline van Eck, Sigrid de Jong
Place of PublicationChichester
PublisherWiley‐Blackwell
Pages313-317
Number of pages5
Volume2
ISBN (Electronic)9781118887226
ISBN (Print)9781444338515
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 2017

Bibliographical note

Volume II, Eighteenth-Century Architecture - part: Building Portraits

Keywords

  • Architecture
  • History

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics of 'Hôtel Amelot (1717)'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this